Bistro du Vin

A homely bistro style French diner belonging to the Les Amis umbrella of restaurants, this place was a quick lunch stop before our movie at Lido. My brother loves the steak here, and what more when they allow you to have it as part of the set lunch, with additional charge of course, but we didn’t mind because my brother got the best of both worlds – set and steak! Another good thing was the fact that they actually offer the set lunch on Saturdays, and at only $30++.

Image

Foie Gras Ravioli with Shaved Mushroom & Port Wine Sauce – This was really really yummy, tasted like it had truffle in it too. It’s just one huge ravioli with lots of sauce. I thought it was a good ingredient combination and a nice starter.

Image

Baked Salmon Trout with Mussels in White Wine – Huge portion for a set meal. The salmon was well cooked, just nicely pink in the centre. The ratio of meal to broth was also just nice. A good choice if you want something healthier.

Image

Walnut Tart with Vanilla Ice Cream – Chocolate-y and caramel like tart. I felt like its name misrepresented it cause it was not at all heavy on the walnuts. My brother really enjoyed it, and I would say it was probably the best of the three desserts we ordered.

Image

Pink Tiramisu – Their take on a tiramisu, using what I think is Rosé wine. As you can tell, it was in deconstructed style and was served with mini meringues and a strawberry sorbet at the bottom. I wish there was more mascarpone though.

Image

Banana Tart Tartin with Ginger & Lemongrass Ice Cream – The ice cream was very interesting, an acquired taste in my opinion. I didn’t fancy it that much, though my dad did. Having tried a small amount, I must say that the ice cream does balance out the sweetness of the tart, and so it might be a good dessert to order if you don’t want something too sweet. It is however, on the heavier side, especially since we were already so stuffed by the dessert course.

I didn’t manage to get a picture of the other appetizers and main courses but I got all the desserts. The meal was very satisfying and the portions aren’t small so you really get your money’s worth. The ambience is also nice if you’re looking for a place to bring a loved one. I also especially like that it’s situated in town cause that makes it very accessible for everyone, and also a go-to for when you’re craving French fare after shopping or watching a movie. They do also offer an a la carte menu but I don’t see why order a la carte when you can have the set lunch!

See the menu here: Bistro du Vin Set Lunch

I’ve only ever visit Bistro Du Vin once but my family has been here a few times already. I wouldn’t say anyone could go wrong with a Les Amis restaurant. They also have another outlet at Zion road which serves Weekend Brunch, but I’ve yet to try it.

1 Scotts Road

#02-12 Shaw Centre

Tel: 67337763

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

